3 Chairs Release Compilation of Music from 1997-2013

by | Feb 9, 2021 | Detroit Techno, Heritage Artists, House | 0 comments

It’s been nearly 24 years since Marcellus PittmanTheo ParrishMoodymann and Rick Wilhite formed 3 Chairs. The Detroit techno and house quartet have now delivered a compilation comprising 35 songs from 1997-2013.

Resident Advisor reports that 3 Chairs Collection (1997-2013) consists mostly of music that was previously only available in vinyl format. The selections span an instrumental-heavy range of the deep house spectrum, with lo-fi recording quirks sure to give them a certain allure among appreciators of the classics. “No Drum Machine” crosses over into jazz, whereas songs like “Demigods” fall closer to acid house. Featured in the tracklist are fellow Detroiters Norma Jean BellAndrés and Amp Fiddler.

2013 marked 3 Chairs’ final release before the compilation: a four-song EP titled Demigods. Prior to that, they hadn’t released music since 2006’s No Drum Machine Pt. 2. All four producers have led successful careers independently of the project, however – particularly Moodmann and Parrish.

3 Chairs Collection (1997-2013) is available in digital format via 3 Chairs Bandcamp.

Recent Articles