Abstract Division Deliver Sublime Hypnotic Techno in Anybody is Nowhere EP

by | Nov 15, 2021 | Hypnotic Techno, Minimal Techno, Sounds, Techno | 0 comments

Selector’s Sounds series follows a procedure that puts music quality before status or industry relationships. Learn how it works.

In August 2019, Dutch duo Abstract Division released the Nobody is Anywhere EP as a form of sonic commentary on the indecision they felt techno artists faced at the time. The Anybody is Nowhere EP sees them close the symbolic loop on that sentiment. The four-track EP released in digital and vinyl format via their own Dynamic Reflection imprint on October 22nd.

“Emergence” introduces the EP with a hypnotic techno motif that conjures cosmic imagery before a remix by Anthony Linell adds a layer of tension to the source material. “Discharge” offers grittier textures and suspenseful lead synths, and “Polarise” closes out the effort with more of the serene, aquatic sound design that ushered it in.

Abstract Division Revisited

Boasting a combined 25 years in electronic music, Paul Boex and Dave Miller formed Abstract Division 10 years ago with the advantage of being able to mix and master their own tracks. The same period marked the launch of their record label, Dynamic Reflection, through which they have released the lion’s share of their discography.

The duo have also put out records through LabrynthSpectral Rebel, and Figure Jams just to name a few. Meanwhile, Dynamic Reflection has given a home to music by the likes of Yan CookStefan VincentJonas Körbl and Linear Search.

Purchase the Anybody is Nowhere EP in digital or 12-inch vinyl record format via Dynamic Reflection Bandcamp.

Recent Articles