Jeff Mills, Juan Atkins, Surgeon Feature on Tresor Records 30th Anniversary Compilation

by | Apr 16, 2021 | Detroit Techno, Electro, Heritage Artists | 0 comments

Tresor Records, the label offshoot of iconic Berlin nightclub Tresor, has announced a 30th anniversary compilation. Comprising 52 tracks across 12 vinyl records, the Tresor 30 box set highlights three decades of standout singles by techno and electro figureheads. It arrives October 1st with advance shipping available for preorders from September 1st.

Among the names gracing the tracklist are key Detroit techno trailblazers Jeff MillsJuan AtkinsTerrence DixonRobert Hood and Claude Young. Techno artists from across the pond such as Surgeon and Moritz von Oswald are featured as well, along with electro mainstays like DrexciyaHelena Hauff and DJ Stingray.

The Detroit-Berlin Connection

Tresor opened its doors in 1991 – following the demise of founder Dimitri Hegemann‘s Ufo Club, and shortly before the fall of the Berlin Wall. It became not only a symbol of Germany’s reunification, but of the bond between its capital city and the electronic musicians of Detroit. The speaker system was fine tuned with DJs like Mills and Dixon in mind, and along with their contemporaries they became fixtures of the club.

Tresor Records was launched the same year, and it has provided a platform for innumerable artists over its 30-year lifetime. In addition to the aforementioned producers, Joey BeltramBlake BaxterNeil Landstrumm and The Advent have released on the label.

Preorder Tresor 30 on the club’s website and find the tracklist for the box set below.

Recent Articles