Techno, House, Electro Royalty Feature on EPM Music’s 20th Anniversary EP Series

by | Apr 15, 2021 | Detroit Techno, Electro, Heritage Artists, House | 0 comments

EPM Music turned 20 years old in January, a milestone calling for considerable fanfare. The distributor, PR firm and record label will release a three-EP series called EPM20 from May to July. Each monthly installment will individually focus on techno, electro and house, consisting of exclusive tracks from each genre’s venerated tastemakers.

The techno EP, out May 28th, comprises singles by Robert HoodBen SimsJames Ruskin and Mark Broom. June 25th marks the release of the electro EP, for which Carl FinlowDetroit’s FilthiestFreddy Fresh as Modulator, as well as The Advent and Zein Ferrara have offered up music. Closing out the series on July 30th is the house EP, whose tracklist includes songs by Eddie FowlkesJon DixonDJ 3000, and Rico & Sonny.

Following the conclusion of EPM20, a compilation of the same name will arrive at an as yet unannounced time.

20 Years of EPM Music

EPM Music, the brainchild of Oliver Way and Jonas Stone, originally served as a booking agency and PR company. Over the years it expanded to include distribution, rights management, and record label services. DekmantelM-PlantAvian and Hot Elephant Music are but a few of the labels they represent.

The 20-year anniversary EP series will be dedicated to the memory of Detroit techno DJ and producer Tim Baker, who passed away in early April. “EPM20 is dedicated to the memory of one of the most beautiful souls in the scene, Tim Baker who has been taken from us far too soon,” reads a press release. “Your music shines on.”

EPM20 will be available for purchase in vinyl format, with specially designed sleeves for the series. Find the tracklist for each installment below.

EPM21V / EPM90:

1. Robert Hood – Shadows
2. Ben Sims – Xotnuc
3. James Ruskin – There Was A Time
4. Mark Broom – The Three Swords

EPM22V / EPM91:

1. The Advent & Zein Ferreira – Strangeform
2. Carl Finlow – Optogenetic
3. Detroit’s Filthiest – Werewolf
4. Modulator aka Freddy Fresh – ProMars

EPM23V / EPM92:

1. Eddie Fowlkes – 1-2-3
2. Jon Dixon – Mack & Bewick
3. DJ 3000 – Summer 1995
4. Rico & Sonny – The Beat

Recent Articles