DJ Godfather to Release Debut Album After Almost 30 Years

by | Oct 22, 2020 | Electro, Ghettotech, Heritage Artists, Juke | 0 comments

After nearly three decades in electronic music, DJ Godfather is preparing to release his debut album – an effort as involved as such a momentous occasion would require. Comprising 44 tracks spanning ghettotech, electro, juke and adjacent styles, Electro Beats For Freaks will arrive by way of Databass on November 20th.

A glance at the Electro Beats For Freaks tracklist alone shows that DJ Godfather (real name Brian Jeffries) has carried on the rich traditions of the music he helped popularize. Eclectic as the songs themselves may be, common creative threads tie them together: stripped-down, minimalist beats designed for the more improvisational DJ with attitude-laden lyrics overhead. Emcees Parkhouse and Goodmoney G100 feature on numerous tracks, with King SaadiLil Mz 313 and Dan Diamond appearing more sparsely.

DJ Godfather Revisited

Alongside Detroit and Chicago artists like DJ FunkDJ Assault, and the late Disco D, Jeffries was a seminal figure in the early years of ghettotech. The genre fuses elements of ghetto house, Miami bass and electro with the faster pace of Detroit techno. It died down somewhat following Disco D’s death in 2007 but has experienced a resurgence from the recent popularity of Chicago’s footwork scene.

At only 18, Jeffries launched a label called Twilight 76 Records in 1994 with the help of co-founders DJ Dick and Brian Gillespie. Databass started out as an imprint of Twilight 76, and Jeffries revived the label in 2018.

DJ Godfather will follow up his November album with a series of 2021 EPs that will include extended versions and other variations of tracks appearing on the album. Find the Electro Beats For Freaks tracklist below.

01. Allow Me To Reintroduce Myself
02. Bitch Get Off Me (Feat. Parkhouse)
03. D3T-313
04. Keep My Name Out Your Mouth (Feat. Lil Mz 313)
05. Bounce Dat Ass (Feat. Goodmoney G100)
06. Show Some Respect
07. Godzilla 2020
08. Shut The Fuck Up (Feat. King Saadi)
09. Only One City
10. Make The Ass Go BOOM (Feat. Goodmoney G100)
11. Get It Girl
12. Rebirth Of A City
13. It’s On Again (Feat. Goodmoney G100)
14. Games With WOPR
15. Late Night Funk
16. Wack DJ (Feat. Goodmoney G100)
17. King Of The Circle
18. Jit Like Me (Feat. Parkhouse)
19. Elektro Rok
20. High (Feat. Goodmoney G100)
21. Jit Or Die
22. Work The M.F. (Feat. Parkhouse)
23. Sunday Morning Spliff
24. They Wanna See My Footwork (Feat. Goodmoney G100)
25. The Battle
26. Owe You Shit (Feat. Lil Mz 313)
27. Booty Funk
28. These Strippers (Feat. Dan Diamond)
29. Certified Freak Hoe (Feat. King Saadi)
30. Up All Night (Feat. Christina Chriss)
31. Loud Mouth (Feat. Goodmoney G100)
32. I’m Drunk, I’m High (Feat. Parkhouse)
33. Woooooo!
34. Big Girl (Feat. Parkhouse)
35. The D
36. But Her Friend (Feat. Goodmoney G100)
37. 313 Keep It Down
38. Nights At The Packard
39. Like Some Dubstep
40. Blow The Bitch Down (Feat. Goodmoney G100)
41. Do It!
42. Detroit After Dark
43. Let Me See That Jit
44. Smoke In Da Air

Recent Articles