Kölsch Announces Release Date and Tracklist for 1989

by | Aug 15, 2017 | News | 0 comments

Amid a momentous upswing in his career, Kölsch will release a studio-length album of more melancholy musings. Titled 1989, the 13-track effort chronicles a trying time in the Danish DJ and producer’s youth. It comes out on Kompakt September 22nd.

1989 is the third part of an album trilogy which includes the LPs 1977 and 1983, which came out in 2013 and 2015, respectively. The former album was inspired by Kölsch’s earliest memories, and the latter by a period of time in which he and his family travelled through Europe.

In a press release, he explained that 1989 is based on “a difficult time in my life, where I mostly just remember the greyness of it all – grey feelings, grey weather and my own grey face.”

Born Rune Reilly Kölsch, he has produced under monikers like Rune RKENUR and Artificial Funk over the course of his career. His big break arrived in the form of 2008’s “Calabria,” although he has gone to great lengths to distance himself from the song in recent years.

Pre-order 1989 by Kölsch here, and find the tracklist for the album below.

  1. A1. 1989
  2. A2. Serij
  3. A3. Grå
  4. A4. In Bottles
  5. B1. Grey
  6. B2. Grau
  7. B3. PUSH
  8. C1. Gris
  9. C2. 14
  10. C3. Khairo
  11. D1. YKPI
  12. D2. Liath
  13. D3. Goodbye

Source: Mixmag

Recent Articles