Berlin Atonal Reveals Second Lineup Announcement for 2017 Edition


A Berlin electronic music staple that launched 35 years ago returns in August, and the organizers have just fleshed out this year’s roster substantially. Berlin Atonal, which takes place from August 16th-20th, just made its second lineup announcement.

PowellWolfgang Tillmans and Paul Jebanasam had been named when the festival’s organizers made the first announcement last month. This one sees the likes of Helena HauffShackletonEmptyset and Rashad Becker join their ranks. Numerous artists on the bill will make their debut in Germany at the festival – and even more will premiere as-yet-unseen collaborative efforts and side projects.

Originally taking place at Kreuzberg club SO83, Berlin Atonal was the brainchild of Dimitri Hegemann, who went on to found the iconic Berlin techno destination Tresor. Upon opening the nightclub (which eventually grew to include a record label of its namesake) he discontinued the festival. In 2013 it relaunched at a vast abandoned power plant now known as Kraftwerk Berlin and has taken place annually ever since.

As of the most recent lineup reveal, there are now 52 names on the Berlin Atonal roster. Find them all alphabetized below.

  • Abul Mogard (A/V – world premiere)
  • Ana-Maria Avram, “KLAVIERUTOPIE” (live – world premiere)
  • Anastasia Kristensen
  • Anthony Linell + Kimberley Ihre (A/V – world premiere)
  • Apeiron Crew
  • BBC Radiophonic Workshop (live – German premiere)
  • Belief Defect (live – world premiere)
  • Belong play October Language (live)
  • Broken English Club (live)
  • Carla del Forno (live)
  • CoH (live)
  • Compuma
  • Crossing Avenue (live)
  • DJ Stingray
  • DJ Yazi
  • Damien Dubrovnik present Great Many Arrows (A/V – world premiere)
  • Demdike Stare (A/V – world premiere)
  • Emptyset (A/V)
  • Ena + Rashad Becker (Oktophonic – world premiere)
  • Equiknoxx (live)
  • Errorbeauty
  • Goner (live)
  • Hypnobeat (live)
  • Iancu Dimitrescu, “Piano High Energy” (live – world premiere)
  • Inga Mauer (live – world premiere)
  • Iueke
  • Killer Bong (live – European premiere)
  • LCC with Pedro Maia (A/V – German premiere)
  • Lemna presents Sediment (live – world premiere)
  • Main / Regis (live – world premiere)
  • Mark Reeder
  • Mick Harris presents Fret (live – world premiere)
  • OKTOPHONIE: Karlheinz Stockhausen
  • PYUR presents Oratorio for the Underworld (Oktophonic – world premiere)
  • Pact Infernal (live – world premiere)
  • Pact Infernal (live – world premiere)
  • Pan Daijing presents Fist Piece (live – world premiere)
  • Powell + Wolfgang Tillmans (A/V – world premiere)
  • Puce Mary presents A Feast Before the Drought (live – world premiere)
  • Renick Bell + Fis (A/V – world premiere)
  • Richard Fearless
  • Rob Lowe (live)
  • Roll The Dice (A/V – world premiere)
  • Roly Porter + Paul Jebanasam present ALTAR (live – world premiere)
  • Shackleton + Anika present Behind the Glass with Strawalde + Pedro Maia (A/V – world premiere)
  • The Lefty (live – European premiere)
  • Trevor Jackson
  • Varg presents Nordic Flora (live – world premiere)
  • Wolf Eyes (live)
  • Yousuke Yukimatsu

Source: Resident Advisor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *